amis au fil des ans

just a few good friends, sharing adventures in family, arts, and sometimes heavy machinery

Reptiles

My latest project (along with many others…I can never seem to concentrate on one at a time), is a set of baby gifts for my sister in law. She is due in April. Her and her husband are both Dr’s. Her hubs has a bit of an obsession with reptiles. He’s done many research articles requiring lizards and all sorts of things to be living in their house. Those are now gone, but the reptile theme has been chosen for their baby boy as a result. She said they are focusing on dinosaurs, turtles, and lizards.  Colors will be yellow, green, and blue (both navy and baby blue–though less emphasis on the baby blue since that is the color of their walls).  Their furniture is white.

So, this is what I have chosen so far from Moda Deb Strain’s Meadow Friends line:

I’m trying to figure out what to mix in. For the rag quilt, I will need 2 more fabrics. I was thinking white minky as one to lighten it up a bit. Any thoughts on that and what the second fabric should be? There are quite a few more options in the meadow friends line, but I didn’t want it to be too crazy. Also, what color flannel do you guys think I should use for the back?

I figured the usual suspects of quilt, bibs and burps. Any ideas for something else to add in? Since its family, I want it to be a nice set.

Thanks! and I’ve missed you guys. 🙂

Here is a peek of 2 of my holiday projects. The stockings (that still need to be embroidered)…and you’ll notice the one in the middle (mine), the fabric is upside down. Gotta love stupid mistakes. Then, I did Jordan’s tutu and embellished reindeer shirt. 🙂

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Reptiles

  1. a reptile room, how fun! i always had multiple aquariums in my room as a kid, and plan on putting at least one in my child’s room.

    i have a pattern in my one-yard-wonders book for patches the turtle, and it looks pretty easy. want me to send it to you? might be fun to add a stuffed animal to the baby items. this is the only picture i could find online of a completed one, but they added the fancy patchwork so don’t get jaded – http://pinkchalkstudio.com/blog/2011/10/14/one-yard-wonders-sew-along-week-41-finished-projects/

    there is also a dinosaur pattern – http://pinkchalkstudio.com/blog/2011/10/28/one-yard-wonders-sew-along-week-43-finished-projects/

    can you send me your stocking pattern? we are stocking-less here, and while it didn’t really matter, i’d like to have stockings next year.

    can you do navy blue flannel for your baby gifts? i gave away some more bibs this weekend and my s.i.l. loved the flannel backing!

    keep posting updates please!!

  2. thanks for the suggestion jamie! i have that book and didn’t even think about checking it. that turtle is a great idea.

    as for the stocking pattern. i kind of followed 2:
    i used this one for the overall pattern, but did not like the tutorial. i also wanted longer stockings, so i doubled the middle part to make it longer and kind of free-handed my pattern to fix what was off http://fabricworm.blogspot.com/2010/12/christmas-stocking-tutorial.html

    i used this one for the tutorial and really liked the quilting/criss crossing http://www.prudentbaby.com/2010/11/christmas-stocking-free-pattern.html

  3. sedwards515 on said:

    am i too late for feedback? what about chocolate minky? the white may be too much of a contrast unless you bring in a white backed pattern fabric too… can’t wait for the update post!

    love the stockings! i made a set of 5 for a friend and used the same tutorials you did. 🙂

  4. i am still trying to decide on what fabric to add since I have only 4 select. any thoughts? http://www.hancocks-paducah.com/ItemList–Moda-Deb-Strain-Meadow-Friends-Quilting-Fabric–m-4036

  5. i agree on the brown minky. especially because I already have some left from the last blanket 🙂 thanks for the 2 suggestions too. i like the green addition. i think that is the way to go.

share your thoughts

